Gibson Brands Forums

Is This Retirement?

junglejem

Thought I'd post something that might strike a chord with some of you folks. I started playing guitar shortly after the Beatles were on Ed Sullivan. Played all through school. Played professionally for several years in the late 70's/early 80's.

Put it away for about 14 years while I finished law school, had a son, started a career, etc.

Then in early 2003 I started playing at our Church. Three services a week, maybe 46 weekends per year, up until this past July. We got a new worship pastor who immediately switched to an all volunteer band and added a Thursday rehearsal to the Saturday and Sunday services. The result? The only people willing to volunteer under those circumstances were 18-20 year olds, most of whom are just developing their skills, and most have a way to go. But they do have heart, and that's cool. I felt like Shirley Jones on the Partridge Family...the only "adult" on stage, at 59 years old. And the music consisted almost exclusively of driving 8th notes, muted power chords, mostly I-IV-V with the occasional minor 6th. It was time to go.

The band that had been together at the Church for most of the past 7-8 years consisted of some really good players, and several of us decided to put together a (secular) band. I was excited. We had one get-together to pick some tunes, chart out the keys and basic vocal duties, and then for the past 3 weeks it has been one cancellation after another, trying to make our first complete rehearsal. Life, wives, careers, Olympics, you name it...if it isn't a priority, it is exeedingly difficult to start up. I don't see it happening.

So at 59, I have come to realize it is probably the end of the line for me as a performing musician. And that's a strange realization. I'm an attorney, so it isn't like my career is ending. But music has been a huge part of my life and personality since 1964. I'm a little bummed.