Gibson Brands Forums

Anyone know antique western saddles?

ksdaddy

KS...

I'm no expert, but there are a lotta those things of similar style where I live. I know there were a lot in that style, high cantle, etc., in the 1880s through the 1920s at least.

OTOH, some folks around here like to have new ones made to the old patterns. The general style makes me think it's roughly turn of the century though. I'm certainly no expert.

Who's the maker? That could help you track it down. There should be a maker's mark somewhere, even if it's been rebuilt.

The Tri-State Museum in Belle Fourche, SD, has quite a few from the open range days. Taught me how much I don't know about 'em. A good collection is at the Jim Gatchell Museum in Buffalo, Wyo., from roughly the same era and three-four hours west of me. One of the better ones likely is north of Buffalo a half hour at Sheridan, Wyo., King Saddlery and King Ropes. King ropes are really pretty popular around here. Eastern slope of the Big Horns.

http://www.kingropes.com/museum.htm

Doesn't show a whole lot of some 500+ saddles in the collection. You might note that the ropes are pretty complex just for work and rodeo stuff.

m

Although I used to work in in a saddle/harness shop as a teen,I don't know a heck of a lot about saddles.I did notice that the style of the saddle is about the late 19th century,but judging by the amount of wear on it I doubt if it's any more than 50 years old at the most and just made in the style of the old western saddles.The gentleman I worked for was a saddle maker and made almost all his saddles-except for English riding and dressage- in this style but they were much more elaborate and could almost be classed as parade saddles.