Gibson Brands Forums

Help identify a 1968 Custom

djmille

I’m a newbie and trusted the folks at a local Guitar Center. I thought I was buying an authentic 1968 Les Paul Custom, flametop, antique natural. I continually questioned the validity of their claims because it looked in such good condition, but they assured me it was actually made in 1968. It even had a certificate of authenticity. I was a bit skeptical, but it sounded great, and played great so I picked it up. Upon bringing it home, I think I have a nice 1968 reissue made in 2007. I kind of wish I would have found these forums before buying.

Can any of you confirm? -Thanks

Well, there was no Custom Shop in 1968 or certificates and they were only made in black back then. A real 1968 Custom is probably going to cost you over $10,000. I hope you only paid about 25% of that amount.

I think I learned my lesson. I did a little research, but not enough. You guys are great and I thank you for the information.

I overpayed by $500-700, (I paid in the low 3K range) so although disappointed in the transaction, the guitar is still great. Even used equipment has the 30 day return policy at GC, but I'm not sure I want to return it. Ugghh; what to do ...

I think I learned my lesson. I did a little research, but not enough. You guys are great and I thank you for the information.

I overpayed by $500-700, (I paid in the low 3K range) so although disappointed in the transaction, the guitar is still great. Even used equipment has the 30 day return policy at GC, but I'm not sure I want to return it. Ugghh; what to do ...

I bought a new 2008 '68 LP RI @ GC in 2008 for $2800. If i wanted to sell it, I'd be lucky to get $2400. Hope that helps your decision.

If you really like it you may be able to take it back & renegotiate.

IMG_0051.jpg

IMG_0052.jpg

IMG_0053.jpg

I bought a new 2008 '68 LP RI @ GC in 2008 for $2800. If i wanted to sell it, I'd be lucky to get $2400. Hope that helps your decision.