Gibson Brands Forums

Question about recording my amps sound

catnine

I have a PC that has a mic input in the front and one in the rear and also a line input in the rear. It's an acer desktop PC and has realtek HD Audio manager. There is a mic and line level that I can adjust when I open the realtek window. I can also set the headphone and speaker outputs and there is a mixer . The mixer is where I can set the input and output levels. There is an equalizer but that seems to be just for the output or playback. There is a noise suppressor for the mic and a acoustic noise cancellation , two settings on or off.

I have an old radio shack dynamic mic that seems well made still in the box for at least 20 years or more. It has a screen ball end and is well made.

All I want to do is record the actual sound on my tube amps so I would think the mic input would be the way to go.

Now I have never done this before. There is a record feature and playback next to the mic and line in and also for the playback that I suppose would begin the recording.

Does this sound like this would work? I don't want to plug the guitar into the PC just record the actual amps speaker sound.

If your amp has a head phone jack, try that. I do that all the time. I plug electric guitar into amp, adjust effects volume etc, then run a guitar cord from the headphone jack to a digital recorder (or computer). You will need an adaptor to fit your computer jack.

Neither of my amps have a out jack or headphone jack. I have adapters to fit the mic into the pc's mic input. I wanted to try to get the amps speaker sound only. I don't even know if that will end up sounding right or like the amp. I am not looking to record along with anything just me and the guitar and amp.

All I do know is my pc has it's own recorder built in it's a realtek HD audio manager and has a line and mic level adjust and you can hear the mic and playback through the headphones from what the manual states.