Gibson Brands Forums

C64 vs modern PC?

FenderGuy1

Firstly, the C64 is not useless junk! it can be used for retrogames, MIDI processing and sequencing and making music, and internet connectivity with the right apps and the right modem, Im using mine with a Comet64 which is a modem that converts RS232 serial into Ethernet, so therefore, your argument is invalid, and im using a Commodore 1351 mouse with it too

-Sent from my 1983 Commodore 64 with a Comet64 modem

As a professional photographer I rather doubt any of my clients would have the patience to wait for their images if I was using a C-64 for my work.

RAM is Good. 300Gb hard-drive is good. Colour-corrected monitor is good. Shooting 'tethered' (camera plugged directly into laptop so images can be scrutinised, full size, in around 1 second) is good.

Every time I click the shutter I'm using another 52Mb of memory. For the last main studio shoot (no, not Farns' R8) I shot somewhere over 2,000 images.

How many C-64's would I have needed for that? You do the math...

[lol]

P.

Firstly, the C64 is not useless junk! it can be used for retrogames, MIDI processing and sequencing and making music, and internet connectivity with the right apps and the right modem, Im using mine with a Comet64 which is a modem that converts RS232 serial into Ethernet, so therefore, your argument is invalid, and im using a Commodore 1351 mouse with it too

-Sent from my 1983 Commodore 64 with a Comet64 modem

As a bit of a luddite I find all your technical talk a bit baffling.

- Sent in the year 900BC from my papyrus and stone tablet home hub