Gibson Brands Forums

Stomp Boxes

bashea

I'm actually a drummer, but because of neighbors had to find a secondary musical outlet, and guitar it was. I've been playing acoustics, but have now gone to the dark side with a Gibson SG Special 70's Tribute and a Vox AD50VT, an affordable hybrid with various effects and amp emulations (of course, hearing someone play an EVH 5150 III at Guitar Center has that destined for Craigslist).

But, how in the world do you decide on your stomp boxes when there are so many out there by so many companies that do so many things?

My list already includes chorus, delay, and reverb. The Xotic EP Booster seems like a must-have. But then there's flangers, phase shifters, compression, overdrive, fuzz, tremolo, loopers, wah-wah, and EQ, and then the multi-effects pedals. There's a thousand distortion boxes - and shouldn't that come from the amp? And could someone explain the difference between "crunch" and "distortion"? Apparently there is!

How do you guys figure all this s**t out?

I'm thinking heroin might be a cheaper addiction.

Rock on.

P.S. - Strings?

post-49452-081547000 1355396470_thumb.jpg

welcome to the the never ending quest brother! I don't think any of us really figure it out. We tend to find those things that at the time, get us where we want to go. as time goes on, the process repeats and eventually you have a half dozen guitars, three or four amps, a box full of gadgets, pedals and what-nots that you don't even know why you got them, or what the heck you need them for now, but you wont unload them cuz.. "well ya just never know.."

sounds like you have a lot of the bases covered with the VOX amp you are using. I would play around with that for a while, you really wont "need" a lot of extras, as most is already built in but a Wah pedal is just plain FUN..