Gibson Brands Forums

Another newbie with a Dot

Cougar

New 2012 Cherry Dot. This is one beautiful instrument. It's almost worth the price just as a piece of sculpture. It came totally out of whack, though. Needed a full setup. I just got it back from the local luthier. (I'm mostly a keyboardist, with some acoustic guitar background. This is my first electric!) Man, that luthier's work made a world of difference. I actually got his name from an old discussion on this site.

Not really being a guitarist, I did a lot of research into Gibson and Epiphone electrics over the last month or two. Mainly, I was looking into getting my 90-year-old father a nice light touch Les Paul. He's been playing some hard-action acoustic for the last 20 years, and a harder-action vintage Epiphone acoustic for 50 years before that. I ended up getting him a Gibson Les Paul Studio. He flipped. I couldn't stop, though. I had to go back and get this cherry semi-hollowbody archtop Epiphone. And it is workin' now!

Oh, yeah, all I've got for now is this lousy photo. Jeez, there are some real photographers on this board with incredible guitar photos. I'm going to have to work on that.

post-51689-066162200 1356224816_thumb.jpg

I've had my new Dot (Black) for about a week now and LOVIN' IT. Been playing Les Pauls since the 70's but haven't touched my LP since I got the DOT. amazing ax! all my guitars are black - my LP (an agile copy that's every bit as sweet as the Gibson's I've owned) is black w/gold hardware). The DOT is a true "player" and I love the wider neck. I love just looking at it on it's stand. I'm determined my next buy will be an EPI LP Custom or Elite (black of course ;) )

Welcome to the world of Dot - like nearly everybody else, I love mine. Playability is great following a pro set up but I sometimes think the pickups could do with a bit more life and clarity particularly when played clean. I might need to start thinking about an upgrade in the near future.