Gibson Brands Forums

Help - Moving from Bass to Guitar. Gig this Wednesday :-o

Hi all,

I have been playing bass for quite a few years now (semi pro* since the mid 80s). It is my instrument of choice, and its what I do without thinking too hard.

Last week my mate got roped into doing a gig. His usual suspects can't make the gig, which left him with his two bass player buddies. He's going to be playing the drums and singing. I drew the short straw. Its a 40-45 minute set of his original music. The style would come under the broad catagory of Rock, although it does have more than the usual appearance of 6th and maj7 chords.

We have had a couple of rehearsals. I have found the experience to be a bit like jumping on a road bike after having driven 18 wheelers all of your life. The mechanics are essentially the same, the physics are competely different, and there are so many ways you can become unstuck....and when you do, its almost always ugly as there is no where to hide. [scared]

Other than the usual problems of there being too many strings and everythng is too close together :unsure:, I'm finding it most frustrating that my fingers can't do what my brain is hearing.

I have been reading through the various threads and some of you have posted some real gems of wisdom. Hence my reason for joining the forums.

Do you have any tidbits of advise for someone, who, as part of a "mid life renaissance", has decided to jump in the deep end ?

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks all in advance.

Chris

ps. I have a fairly good understanding of basic thoery. I played classical guitar from age 10 through high school, but that was the last time I played something with 6 strings in front of an audience. [wink]

I can't play bass very well at all. I have an extrememly healthy respect for good bass players, because it requires some things that a guitarist does not need.