Gibson Brands Forums

1960's SG

DaveDave

Years ago when I started playing guitar in 1970, my parents bought me a Gibson SG that had the following:

•  
  • a single-coil pickup mounted at an angle at the NECK.
  • The bridge mount had a chrome plate with what I can only describe as a "sleigh" curve on one end, which had string slots cut into it.
  • The bridge was flat on the ends and had nylon string saddles.
  • The entire bridge then had a chrome cover with the Gibson name scroll engraved into it.
  • The controls had a chrome cover very very similar to a Telecaster, but with 1 master volume, 1 master tone, and 1 input jack.
  • It had a Gibson set neck with Kluson tuners.
  • Yes it was an SG, typical Gibson SG body (NOT a double-cutaway Melody Maker), Gibson Neck, Gibson decal on the headstock.
  • It had a Brown finish.

I no longer have that guitar, BUT would like to re-create it.

Who do I talk with to re-create that guitar?

post-77027-060693300 1455665189_thumb.jpg

Years ago when I started playing guitar in 1970, my parents bought me a Gibson SG that had the following:

•  
  • a single-coil pickup mounted at an angle at the NECK.
  • The bridge mount had a chrome plate with what I can only describe as a "sleigh" curve on one end, which had string slots cut into it.
  • The bridge was flat on the ends and had nylon string saddles.
  • The entire bridge then had a chrome cover with the Gibson name scroll engraved into it.
  • The controls had a chrome cover very very similar to a Telecaster, but with 1 master volume, 1 master tone, and 1 input jack.
  • It had a Gibson set neck with Kluson tuners.
  • Yes it was an SG, typical Gibson SG body (NOT a double-cutaway Melody Maker), Gibson Neck, Gibson decal on the headstock.
  • It had a Brown finish.

I no longer have that guitar, BUT would like to re-create it.

Who do I talk with to re-create that guitar?