Gibson Brands Forums

Flying V question

zerolynn

I am a musician and have also dabbled with toy prototypes for the Toy Center in NYC.

This guitar has all the attributes of a prototype and would like some opinions.

I've attached photos of my item next to an actual Gibson Prototype which is to be from 1978.

If the prototype photos is a standard Gibson design process then the guitar I have may be one.

post-59670-030793900 1383062715_thumb.jpg

post-59670-098829300 1383062782_thumb.jpg

post-59670-084573300 1383062838_thumb.jpg

post-59670-000960800 1383062911_thumb.jpg

post-59670-073832000 1383062941_thumb.jpg

I am a musician and have also dabbled with toy prototypes for the Toy Center in NYC.

This guitar has all the attributes of a prototype and would like some opinions.

I've attached photos of my item next to an actual Gibson Prototype which is to be from 1978.

If the prototype photos is a standard Gibson design process then the guitar I have may be one.

Maybe we have a translation problem here but the Hammett Prototype is probably fairly new and may be modeled after a '78 V.

With yours, the pictures lack some detail in some areas. But, I've never seen a Gibson with a bell-shaped truss rod cover that has three screws. Yes, Flying V covers generally have 3 screws but they have those big covers. The old V's with bell-shaped covers have only two screws. So, something seems funny there.

Maybe we have a translation problem here but the Hammett Prototype is probably fairly new and may be modeled after a '78 V.

With yours, the pictures lack some detail in some areas. But, I've never seen a Gibson with a bell-shaped truss rod cover that has three screws. Yes, Flying V covers generally have 3 screws but they have those big covers. The old V's with bell-shaped covers have only two screws. So, something seems funny there.