Gibson Brands Forums

Bill Lawrence circuit board

JimeJ

Apparently, Gibson and BL had a major conflict in the late '80's during and after the time that he designed "The Original" which were installed '88-'90 I think and then he was no longer Gibson. (What happened?) Anyway, I've got these in my '88 LP which is on file at Gibson as being a Sunburst '59 RI. We kicked this around last year, but after reading a bit more on BL, that he was a reputable craftsman and 'inventor', I'm curious how many of you have or had the same PU and what the general opinion is. Personally, for my taste, I like them alot................J

Hey there,

Newbie here. Haven't even done and intro yet. But I've got these PU's in my '89 LPstd Cherryburst (I'm original owner). I think they're outstanding. For several years i had the covers off. It surely add brightness and presence to remove, but to a fault. I recently put the covers back on and like them much better in sound and looks. The bridge is a super hot PAF style hence 'the Original' tag and the neck nice and sweet and fat.

I've been scouting them on ebay too recently and it appears my feelings are shared. Single PU's are pricing in the $50-$100 range. And I've seen people asking $200 to $250 + for sets !!

Never have heard why BL and Gibson parted ways but the 2 new books coming out on 'the Les Paul Legacy' may shed some light. The 2nd one 1968-2008 specifically which has yet to be released. i saw the 1st one at Barnes and Noble the other day and don't have the $ right now, but $27 each on Amazon !!

later