Gibson Brands Forums

adjusting the action on my 61 reissue.

Manubro1

How do you adjust the action on a 61 reissue SG? I have very little knowledge on how to do repairs and stuff on guitars so id like to know, is it a complicated thing to do? Can someone give me a good, detailed instruction on how to do it? Should I not even attempt it?

Thx.

You would twist the bridge posts clock-wise. This will bring it down. So no, changing it is not hard. But, you will have to re-intonate it. There are plenty of tutorials on how to do that, but it is debated on whether or not you pick the string normally or pick it with a harmonic on the 12th fret (look at tut's, you will see what I mean).

Might would be smart though to measure the height it's currently at, at the 12th fret on both E strings; so just in case you want to put it back as it was without having to intonate back (only if you never intonated after the change).

When you adjust the thumbwheels on the bridge to bring the string height down, you may also have to adjust the tailpiece as well. You want the tailpiece to be low enough, so that the strings don't rest on the back of the bridge. You want a small clearance there or string breakage is more likely. Just make sure that the string touches nothing but the saddle part on the bridge before it reaches the tailpiece. If you adjust the tailpiece, put a cloth between the flathead screwdriver and stud piece, or you will damage the chrome finish on it when you turn it, if you're not very careful.

Also you'll have to loosen all of the strings to get the tension relieved so that you can turn the thumbwheels and studs. So you'll have to loosen, adjust, re-tune, and see if you like it. If you don't, you'll have to repeat all over, so plan to have a little time and patience. After you get the height where you want it, then worry about the intonation. If you don't know how to adjust that go here:

setting up your GEETAR