Gibson Brands Forums

direct box with vjr

Hi all! New to the forum and the VJR! My question is could I run a VJR head through A DI box into our bands PA mixer board and not run the speaker cabinet on stage? Would this burn up the head? A little background info: I have been using a POD xt direct into our PA for about 3 years now. Although it sounds ok it just seems to be missing that little extra something...ya know? Our whole band is using the POD xts (Rythem, and Bass players) so I know they would not want me hooking up an amp with an actual god forbid speaker! on stage! So I'm thinking maybe I could get by without having the speaker on stage and still get the warmness of a tube amp by just using the POD for the effects and the head going through a DI box (that has cabinet emmulation). Your thoughts?

Most of the DI boxes/cabinet simulators I've seen require you to have a speaker or resistive load (dummy load)hooked up to the amp. You need to have a load on the amp's output transformer to keep it from burning out.

I've used a Behringer GI100 and Scholtz Power Soak for silent recording in the past. I can't see why a similar combination wouldn't work for a live performance. The Hughes & Kettner Red Box works the same way.

Whether or not you actually like the tone will be a matter of personal taste.

tung