Gibson Brands Forums

Refurbs - advice needed please!

steakbone

Hello! First post here... Hopefully soon to be new Epiphone owner - looks like a very active, helpful forum here.

I am looking at purchasing the Epiphone Masterbilt EF-500RCCE. I have the opportunity to get an incredible deal on one from an "authorized refurbishing center". I saw one post on this forum with someone who had a negative experience with a refurb. Any other input on this issue? The seller is offering a 7-day return policy and since I'm not an expert on inspecting guitars I might quickly take in to my local guitar shop and have them check it out for some peace of mind. But I won't go through the hassle if the consensus is to avoid the refurbs. I can afford a new one, but if I can save $300 (and get a free hardshell case) that's what I'd rather do! Thanks in advance...

Dave

If you're interested, check out some of my tunes at my Soundclick site (I'm mainly a bass player, most of the guitar is through collabs...)

www.soundclick.com/steakbone

A 7 day return policy don't mean much if a string jocky botches up a repair and refinish job. What are you going to return?

Refurb? How much work we talkin' here. The EF isn't that old a model is it?

Depends on how much refurb. If it is extensive, ask for before and after pics of refurbs he's done. Ask for references of satisfied customers. Although, if he offers you a couple.. he'll probably cherry pick the satisfied customers... If he has none... be skeptical. If he can't get yours started for a few weeks, that could be a good sign. He's busy because he's good.