Gibson Brands Forums

Mandolins MM-50

Doth

Hello Everybody' date='

I ran a search, but nothing came up on Mandolins. Are there any players on the forum? I am considering a MM-50 and was curious what you all thought.

Doth[/quote']

Doth, Hi! This looks to be a really decent Mandolin. I have a lesser model (MM-30E) that we just picked up for our

band recently to do small Mandolin parts on a couple of songs. The workmanship on this model was very good.

After having a "real" setup done on it, it plays really great. I'm just starting out myself because of the bands need

and I think it's nice to broaden you musical horizons every now and then to keep from getting stale. The model

you're looking at is a higher grade, so I'm sure it will be very good. The one I have is good enough for beginners,

but I'm sure once I get better I'll upgrade. Take a look at some reviews on the model you're looking at by "Google"-ing it. See what other people think. Also, see if they have one or can get one at your local music center to see if

you can try it out in person. That's the best thing, if it's possible for you to do. Whatever happens, good luck.

Hello Paul,

Thank you for the reply. I am just learning the Mando. Its strange, as I have played guitar for 20 years and I wanted to try something new as well. The tuning throws me off, it is like the low 4 strings, backwards and doubled. So I have to relearn all my fingerings. What a challenge.

I played it at the local Guitar Shop, and really liked it. I will look for reviews on google.

Have a great day,

Doth

There have been some mando posts in the past. You have to specify more than 'last' week at the bottom of the "Acoustics" board page. Select "ALL".

However, I have not been able to make the search function at all. I can only get searches on poster names to work. I've complained, but to no avail. Still doesn't work.