Gibson Brands Forums

Huge problem with Indonesian AJ220SCE

nr2003man

Went to my local Guitar Center and got a acoustic aj220sce and I have had nothing but problems. I'm new to acoustics but I discovered on the high e string the thinest one, from the 5th fret on down to the 13th fret the notes are dead and sound exactly the same pitch. So I took it back and I tried out all the other exact same models which were brand new in the boxes in the store and they pretty much did the same thing. The inspection numbers were all different to so it's not just a random thing. I finally found one that worked perfect with no dead notes at all, now that I've had it for a few weeks it is now doing the same thing as the others. Same exact multiple notes on the high e string and some at the 13th and 14th fret of the g string. I have done nothing to it not even changed strings. I placed a capo several places on the neck just to test to see if it could be a nut problem and it still did the same thing. I don't know if that was a good test to do or not, but I figured since I could fit a piece of paper in between the nut and the headstock on the righthand side that the nut must not be seated in all the way, but after doing the capo test I'm not too sure that is the problem. Another thing, the wood already has a nick and slight crack forming in it at the 1st fret, it's nothing major all guitars get wear marks on the board, but this one? only after a few weeks? What kind of wood are those Indonesian's using? Crap? I could deal with the slight nick, but multiple dead notes on a product name I have grown to love and trust since 2004 is unacceptable. What happened to the quality of Epiphone? One word Indonesia.

It sounds like a simple matter of adjusting the truss rod to provide more relief. It's common to have to adjust the relief one way or another a couple times of year, due to seasonal environmental changes that effect the wood. Are you familiar with how to do this?

Red 333