Gibson Brands Forums

Anyone else playing one of these?

nrand

I've been gassing for a 335 for a few years and last year I found an early 1974 Matsumoku Epiphone that was mint, but a bit too flexi in the neck pocket for regular gigging. I sold it to a collector and the search went on. Fnally I came across this one on ebay from a Japanese seller. Turns out, as far as I understand this is the same as the Orville by Gibson made at the Terada factory until 1998. I was originally thinking I might change out the electronics but after playing it I won't change a thing.

I have discovered that not too many of these would made and would enjoy hearing from others who play one.

G-08.jpg

G-03.jpg

G-02.jpg

G-09.jpg

What makes you sure, it is Terada made ?

The research I have read so far indicates firstly that 'J' indicates Terada.

Epiphone JAPAN: No letter or F=FujiGen, J or T=Terada.

This factory also made the Orville by Gibsons through 1998 and then OGB became just 'Orville' from 1999 and this model and others became 'Epiphone' with some minor cosmetic and electronics changes.

The Orville's as I understand from one source had Gibson Pups for example and these are Japan Epiphone Pups.

There are many more Orvilles produced that Epiphones and the Orvilles also had a few more factory options - see link below.

Both had the Gibson 'Open Book' headstock design not found on USA and other Epiphones. Otherwise I understand they are identical.

Here is the Orville:

http://www.guitargai.com/html_folder/gai_orvilleA.html#

This is as much as I have learned so far - I've only had it for a month.

What makes you sure, it is Terada made ?

Sorry to double up, here are the specific references.

There is a segment on Epiphones down the page.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orville_by_Gibson