Gibson Brands Forums

protecting baby's finish

loboblanca

Hi everybody,

I just joined the forum; didn't know it was here and I've been checking out the Gibson website for a while. Nice to have a place to talk to other Gibson lovers.

I've picked guitars up and put them down for a long long time, but something happened a year ago and it stuck and I'm wondering why I didn't stick with it a long time ago. Answer, the right guitar, I guess. All the guitars I had tried to learn on in the past were cheap, and I never knew how important a good guitar was for a beginner. I started playing a Strat knockoff a year ago and got hooked, then a friend of mine was selling his Les Paul and I couldn't turn it down since the price was insanely low; I stole it. I swear the guitar almost plays itself.

Anyway, my Paul was originally a banana yellow out of the factory. It got refinished in black a few years later and thats how I bought it. The finish is kind of old, and I'm noticing some spider-web like cracks showing up in it. In fact, there have been a couple chips showing up since I've been playing it. Does anyone know of a product I can put on it to protect the finish, and hopefully prevent further chipping? I emailed the folks in Nashville and they said, without looking at it, that it would cost around 1400 bucks to refinish it, which was cheaper than I had expected. But until I get some cash I can't afford to have them do that, and would actually like to keep it in its 'older' state.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for any help or advice you might be able to give me.