Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Fretboard Conditioner

esmfotoz

I'm new to this product as was wondering if anyone had any experience with it. The bottle just says "apply a small amount of conditioner to fretboard, rub in and wipe off excess". Is there a good way to apply it; cloth, Q-tips? Any suggestions? I really don't want to make a huge mess of it... :unsure: Thanks...

What I do, during an occasional string change (not every time I change strings), about twice a year for me, with the stings off, I put a few drops of conditioner on a folded cotton cloth. Basically a heavy duty paper towel wrapped around my index finger, and then rub each fret position. A few drops on the cloth will do a few frets. Do not soak or super saturate the board. Just make it shine and look a little oily or damp. The cloth will be dirty so I change the cloth around to a clean spot and do a few more frets. I never drop the fluid directly on the fret board as it may puddle or really sink in at that spot. After I get done with all the frets, I take a clean cloth and rub each position of the board to remove dirt and excess conditioner. If the board is still dirty, I may lightly go back and start over or even use a fretboard cleaner before I use the conditioner. I have found that I do not need the cleaner on my guitars, but If I buy a used one or an working on someone's guitar I will start with a cleaner and then use the conditioner. A cleaner is not always necessary before a conditioner. For cleaning a lot of us, including Gibson factories, use Naptha, also called lighter fluid, and it will not harm your nitro finish of the guitar if you wipe it on and off. I am not too sure if you would leave a big puddle sitting on the guitar for a real long time, but heck you are going to string it up and play the thing not leave it laying around.