Gibson Brands Forums

Lesson Update

G McBride

Any of you guys stick with your lessons thru the summer. I started last September and have every week all but maybe six that we took off for one reason or another.

I took in a CD of Tab Benoit a week ago and said "this is the kind of music I want to play". My instructor listened to it and ask which song I wanted to work on first and I gave him two choices, he picked the title song of the CD entitled MEDICINE. He told me that he knew Blues was the beginning of all rock but he just didn't get into it much. I told him to listen to the CD and if he didn't want to play along there was something wrong with him.

I am still learning and still going, how about the rest of you?

if i had my time again, i'm not sure if i'd want lessons or not?

I'm self taught been playing since 92 when I was a nipper, for a long time I was glad I didn't have lessons, mainly because I saw it as the source of all disinterest. I was proved right as all my richer school friends started leaving it behind bored to death by scales and repetition, where I was thrashing along to "touch me I'm sick" by Mudhoney.

obviousley having lessons doesn't instantly mean you'll quit, but a bad teacher has the power to turn off a student who like me, left to their own devices, would stick the course.

these days though I feel there's definitely a chasm of "understanding" missing from my playing, I do feel there's a certain creativity and quick thinking that I lack because I never had the meat and bones of scales.

but, pah, you take your path and you stick to it. I'm purposely learning more blues and scales these days just for some remedial work

play it a little, play it a lot, just play bubba! Wooooo!