Gibson Brands Forums

Cleaners or Polish...not the nationality

MickeyNJ2

What are some of your favorite Cleaners or Polishes for frequent cleaning/maintenance? I have a DR500mceVS which is a glossy finish.

Also I have an old Penco I bought with paper-route money back in '79 and the finger board and frets could use cleaning - any suggestions?

While I'm at it...lets talk strings - even though I've had a guitar since '79 I'm still a beginner learning all over again if you will. I've been learning a song in Open E tuning and going back and forth to standard tuning since I only know one song in open E...anyway I've gone thru 3 sets of strings in like 3 weeks - The last set I put on were Martin .13s thinking a heavier string would last longer however the G broke within two tuning changes - Am I doing something wrong?

For just regular cleaning/polishing I like Ernie Ball Guitar Polish; doesn't build up or leave a film. For a deeper cleaning and minor scratch removing I'll use Restore cream polish, but this is usually one time deal. For cleaning a rosewood fretboards I use 0000 steel wool and condition with Dunlop Ultimate Lemon Oil, but that is usually once every few years or it will depend how often you play or the environment you play in, i.e. hot sweaty bars.

Caution you have to be careful about using Lemon Oil; over use can soften the wood. Here is a Youtube video showing how to use steel wool to clean a fretboard.

Never use steel wool or lemon oil on a maple fretboard.

If you have deep scratches you can try Guitar Scratch Remover. The stuff really works. I had some really bad scratches on my Ibanez AEG18, so I order the stuff and it remove 99% of the scratches. Here is the link for Guitar Scratch Remover.

Scratch Remover