Gibson Brands Forums

Epi AJ 100

catnine

I have built my own guitars all solid body electrics since 1984 other than a Lennon Ric copy. Yet I never built an acoustic.

I have been playing guitar since 1963 and had many acoustics and electics and right now have a seagull grand and in 2008 I got this AJ100 sunburst model from a dealer sam ash near me.

Right off the action was so low all the strings buzzed all over the neck so Gibson sent me a new saddle and I fit it and raised the height so it was at spec.

I have read reviews and many mention buzzes past the 12th fret. The nut seems fine and the relief is at .010" and there is a slight fall off on the neck from the 14th fret to the end of the neck. All the frets are seated fine. The guitar does play better when it's more humid but since I don't have a case I can't control the humidity the way I would like. I don't see a hump in the neck at the body joint.

It almost seems like perhaps the frets are not level from the 14th fret and up to the body. They didn't have the guitar in a special room with proper humidity and I have no idea how long it hung in their store.

I haven't seen others like mine since no one here stocks them yet the top is not sunken it but there are these sort of ripple type lines on the face of the guitar can't tell if it's the finish or this is the way they are. To me it looks like the grain of the top is sunken where the soft grain is.

any suggestions ,should it place some damp sponges in the bottom of a plastic trash bag and tie it off and see if things change before I go adjusting things? All I do know is the action was far to low to begin with and raising the action helped all but the 14th fret and above yet the top was not sunken in it does have a nice curve across the top.

Welcome catnine,