Gibson Brands Forums

Esonic imbalance

Geezah

Hello all. I'm new to Epiphone and to this forum. In June I purchased a new PR5E. I was fortunate to get one with a flat fingerboard and a relatively nice looking top (it's a natural finish). I'm really happy with it, as it was bought as a couch picker. It had all the qualifications; thinner body than my OM, built-in tuner, and not too loud since most of its use will happen after the rest of my family is asleep. So far so good.

The issue I'm having appears when it gets plugged in. The low E is way louder than the rest of the strings. I'm dealing with it myself as much as I can, since I don't have much confidence in Long and McQuaids tech departments. I've removed the saddle to make sure it was sanded flat on its bottom (it wasn't), and I've lifted the piezo strip to make sure it was clean on its under surface as well as clean on the bottom of the saddle slot (they weren't). After sanding the saddle flat and cleaning up the piezo and saddle slot I put it all back together and there seems to be some improvement. The only thing I can think of that I can do would be to file the edge of the hole through which the piezo enters the bridge. I seem to remember reading somewhere that a sharp bend can affect piezo performance.

My question is has anyone else had this problem? If so, how did you deal with it?

I dunno. My PR5e is just about perfect almost outa the box for how I use it. I balance the tone stuff, occasionally mess with the phase switch...

But... not much of anything out of the ordinary whether I plug it into my AE amp or a board.

My first thought had more to do with whatever strings you're using even more than something with the "hole" used by the actual pickup wiring. For what it's worth, I started using DR "Zebra" strings 9-42 immediately after my purchase. Really nice balance across the whole sound spectrum on the thing.