Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Cromwell Parts

Hi all,

This is my first time on the forum. I wasn't sure if this should go in vintage or restoration because it's a little of both, but I chose this one. I recently inherited an old acoustic guitar, which I believe may be a Gibson Cromwell. My grandfather bought it in the 30s. Judging from the label I believe it was from a Montgomery Wards catalog. Here is a link to a few pictures I took the other day.

Gibson Cromwell Pictures

First off, can any of you confirm what this is? It looks like a Cromwell to me and the dates match up, but it doesn't have the logo on the head like most do.

Second, as you can see in the pictures it's missing two screws on the tuners. I've looked in hardware stores and it seems to be a 4-40 slotted oval head machine screw, but I can't seem to match the threading. Any idea where I could find these?

Third, the pickboard is unattached. From what I've seen there is usually some sort of right angle bracket that the pickboard attaches with, but I don't have it. Where could I find the bracket and screws?

Finally the bridge is no longer attached. I'm sure I can find some information on the forums for fixing this, but I just thought I'd mention it.

I didn't include pictures of the case, but its a black leather case, with a purple velvet interior. Did these guitars normally come with a case? Could this be the original?

Thanks so much. I look forward to any advice. I'm really excited to get this back in playing shape! \:D/

Hey Darg! First of all, welcome, and I think that you chose the right section for your questions. I am guessing that you are new to guitars and I share your excitement over getting it back to playing condition.

This is an archtop-style guitar and the bridge is not meant to be attached to the top. The strings attache to the tailpiece and run over the bridge. the bridge remains movable to adjust intonation when tuning it.