Gibson Brands Forums

1929 Gibson 4 string banjo

Good day all. I'm brand new to the forum so please forgive any dumb mistakes I might play in regards to where I'm posting things and I'm also not a musician so if I butcher some of the verbage, I do apologize for that also.

My dad has "blessed" me with the task of getting his father's 1929 Gibson banjo appraised. He's been told its quite rare. From what we can gather, its a 1929 Gibson model PT-6 plectrum tenor. Pretty sure its also known as a "PT 24 1/2" All the serial numbers are matching. The neck and resonator are curly maple with gold etched metal hardware, some gold sparkle details, mother of pearl tuner knobs and mother of pearl inlays on the fret board. It also has what I like to call a "whammy bar" damper type thing on the face. I don't know if that is normal for a banjo.

The banjo has only belonged to my grandfather, and it was passed down to my father after grandpa's passing. I honestly don't think its been played for over 40 years.

I was hoping some of the experts at Gibson might be able to help us out.

Much thanks in advance.

First, as we like to say, "we need photos or it doesn't exist." Not that it is required to answer your question, we just like looking at pretty pictures of Gibson instruments.

Now for the real question, for what reason do you want the appraisal? There are two distinct values for most any instrument, "market value", and "insurance value". "Market value" is what you can expect to receive from an actual sale. "Insurance value", or "Blue Book" value, usually listed as considerably higher than market value, is what people WISH their instruments were worth, and are generally used for insurance purposes.

So, where are you going with the appraisal, e-bay, State Farm, Probate Court, etc?

First, as we like to say, "we need photos or it doesn't exist." Not that it is required to answer your question, we just like looking at pretty pictures of Gibson instruments.