Gibson Brands Forums

75 Riviera

Ahnlaashock

I bought this old case queen yesterday. It has almost no usage damage at all.

What is wrong with it was caused by the years in the case in conditions damp enough to cause the neck plate to start to degrade and to cause surface rust.

As far as damage, the binding has been pushed in the cutouts near the neck, there is a small chip missing right at the base of the neck, and the strings do not line up with the neck or the pups. One pickup is not working, but we have not even begun to find out why. The neck still has all the gloss on the back, and shows no usage, even at the three piece join lines.

Moving the anchor to put the strings back in the right positions seems to be the best bet to me, but I have never worked on this kind of guitar before. I am hoping the people here will correct me on the best methods to restore this one if that is wrong. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Anyway, here are the pictures right after it came home. I took the neck off and there was a very thick guitar pick shim right in the middle, made out of a pretty small thick pick. Without the shim, the strings are about a half inch off the neck, so I will have to make a proper shim that is as wide as the pocket.

The model is 5102TE. The number on the blue tag inside the body says it is a 75 Riviera. The tag does not have Union Made on it, and has Made in Japan in the lower right corner.

Any information about this guitar or how to best restore it is very welcome. Less than a year ago, I could not have told you the difference between an LP and a strat, so I don't have years of association and experience to fall back on.

002-23.jpg

001-28.jpg

003-23.jpg

Hi Ahnlaashock, welcome. The 5102TE is also badged as the EA250. Mine is identical to yours but with chrome pickup covers. They are fully hollow, with thin necks, which gives them a slightly fragile feel and makes for easy de-tuning if you're heavy handed with the neck.