Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar Rig - RIP - Mac

Typhuz

Keep in mind I am new to guitar through the computer!

I have searched the boards and can't find a solution for this so am guessing I am doing something wrong/stupid.

I have my Rip hooked up via Firewire to a brand new iMac and am getting no sound out of my computer monitors. (I went and upgraded the speakers for this purpose). I have gone through the install and firmware upgrades for the RIP and my Dark Fire but nothing.

I get sound from other apps and I can see the meters in the RIP console and Guitar Rig bouncing happily.

Help!?

Shawn

Wont this send the audio signal to the speakers before Guitar Rig processes?

The goal is to use the speakers that are already hooked up to my computer (don't want to add another set to my desk).

Best regards,

Shawn

RIP may look like a small adapter box - but it is actually an Audio Interface - every bit as capable as other pro audio DAW Firewire interfaces. - its just dedicated to Guitar and Dark Fire specifically .

Re read the RIP Manual for details, and read this thread for more connection information:

http://forums.gibson.com/default.aspx?g=posts&t=13102

When tracking in Ableton Live - Unplug your speakers from your Mac - and connect them to the TRS balanced Outputs on the RIP.

Since the RIP is a Core Audio device, You can even configure your other apps ( Garageband) to use the RIP as Audio I/O device.

Got it!

(If only I had RTFM!!)

1-In OSX 10., Apple changed the way that you access its built-in audio

settings. If you plan to use GUITAR RIG 3 without an external soundcard

or the RIG KONTROL, you may need to set up an aggregate device. Here

is how to do it:

2-From the Utilities Folder, launch the Audio MIDI Setup.

3-From the drop-down list labeled audio, choose Create Aggregate Device

4-Press + in the dialog that comes up to create a new entry.

5-Rename the new entry to GUITAR RIG by double clicking in the text

field for Aggregate Device