Gibson Brands Forums

Problems with new SG bass

Hi. I just bought a brand new SG bass. Like the sound and feel a lot. BUT:  1. A static electricity buzz appears. It seems to react with my shirt if I even slightly move the bass and it is getting rubbed with the shirt. Is this familiar to you and what to do? It affects my show a lot 😀 2.  SG seems very sensitive to banging. I know that part of the problem comes from my fingers, because I am not very experienced player and I am not yet technically good enough. So sometimes the strings might touch the pickup. But I suppose that is not the only explanation. Especially using the pick seems very difficult, almost impossible. I tried to learn funk bass too, but it is also hard because of the  banging. It works if played very carefully, but  ... I would like to use power, too. The pickups feel very effective and strong, but lowing the volume affects negatively to the sound. So don´t know what to do. In the papers that came with the bass it was said that the setup is well arranged in the factory - so no changes should be necessary. But still - should I  do something?

Hi and welcome!  Some amps just are noisier/buzzier than others, and it matters a whole lot where you have everything set and the quality of your cables, etc.  are you using cheap cables, or shielded, for example.  The techie guys here will have more detailed, helpful answers.  

Re the banging, that sounds like maybe try to slow down a bit and work on your technique.  You will find the sweet spot for how hard you need to hit the strings and at what angle to avoid extraneous noise.