Gibson Brands Forums

busking at special event shows. people are so nice right now

Three or four times a year I get the invite to Busk and play for street crowds at a couple of big art shows and special events in Arizona, New Mexico, and Colorado. (Won't play California anymore there anti american laws piss me off so I've been boycotting that state for 6-7 years now after a cop threatened to arrest me for a oversize locking pocket knife that was in a pouch on my belt it was a hand carved buck folding knife I've been carrying for 30 damn years and never had any cop say anything other than how pretty it was, but not in Commieforina the only reason they didn't charge me for it was the show promoter was there and told them as hired security it wasn't there job to harass artists and the sergeant was probably afraid they would lose the well paying off duty jobs from a large week long event that was held twice a year. The office still tried to confiscate the knife but I told him I'd rather be arrested then donate a knife that was this nice just so he could end up carrying it.

I think there is only one thing in the performing world that I enjoy doing more than street Busking it's a blast. Anyway we did a two day show this weekend with playing on the street for about 6 hours both days. The weather was nice and it was comfortable since I sat on a stool this year rather than trying to stand for that amount of time which I'm not really up to doing anymore with the bum wheel. Both days were really crowded with big friendly crowd yelling out songs they wanted to have played and even singing a few versus for everybody's entertainmnet when I pretended not to know the song until that would sing some of it for me [biggrin]