Gibson Brands Forums

Tech Help please!!! PROB with my volume POT!

dariopalladino

Hello everyone,

I must confess I am new in the Gibson world.

I bought a 1973 Les Paul Custom on e-bay, it sounds good and everything but there is a prob.

When I play the Rhythm or the Treble pup alone all is fine, the volume and tone pots respond perfectly, nothing wrong.

When I put the toggle in the middle position the overall volume drops a LOT and there is no way to play at a decent volume.

What's funny if I turn the bridge pick up as if to lower the volume, I get an overall increase of volume and it seems as if only the neck pup is working, or at least I get a sound about 80% coming from the neck and the normal volume is restored.

Brought the guitar to a luthier, said the wiring is fine only the 2 volume pots seem not original but that doesnt mean anything since he did not go as far as removing all pots and measuring them. He said even the toggle switch seems ok but he admitted having no great experience with this kind of stuff...

Anyone can help???

thanks!!

Dario

Hi friend.

She's a 2 PU's guitar, I see.

Well ... what an horrible soldering work!

Surely not a standard Gibson wiring and soldering job: it's a little miracle if the guitar plays any sound [flapper]

Dario: clean ALL the existing solder from pots and cable shields and re-make all the soldering standard and clean.

You can see a standard Gibson schematic here:

4373507511_7d04ef55c9_b.jpg

And an elegant, clean original wiring from a '69 LPC:

4826403293_ef1927ea85_b.jpg

Note in both examples caps wiring between volume and tone pots.

I'm pretty sure that your volume pots are not original: you can replace it easily purchasing a couple of CTS Audio pots, short shaft 500K.

Have a nice work.

Hi there Gianni!

Thanks to you I have all the information I need to do this on my own.

I will get the pots first of all, the CTS Audio, do you recommend them?

Are they the best (or nearly) you can get?