Gibson Brands Forums

please help out an acoustic noob like me!

e_lespaul

i have been playing electric guitar for a few years now and recently got given an old 3/4 classical guitar(i think)

. Anyway i wanna buy a nice acoustic guitar and have a few questions:

what is the difference between an acoustic and a classical guitar?

should i go for steel strings or nylon?

and should i get an electro acoustic?

by the way im looking for a full size guitar 8-[

A classical guitar is an acoustic guitar, although they have become more common with electric pickups.

Generally, though, the term "acoustic guitar" is used to refer to a steel-stringed guitar that does not need amplification to achieve the target sound.

As for which to go for, from the standpoint of it being a learning experience I'd say if you've been playing an electric guitar for a few years you're good to go with a steel string. Many beginners are counseled to start with a classical guitar b/c there is no callousing of the fretting fingers (along with the well known pain 8-[ ) ; you're obviously beyond that barrier and so, if the sound is what you're looking for, you're ready for it.....

Having said that, though, I will say that I actually prefer the sound of a good classical nylon string guitar more than even that of my new Breedlove custom shop steel string 000. There's something very "expressive" about nylon that a good luthier can bring out, it's not only a pleasure to listen to but also a pleasure to play. The feel is very different, as is the actual motion of plucking the strings--to get the best sound from a nylon string guitar, it's necessary to depress the strings toward the soundboard and release them by lifting the fingers off the string (obviously very quickly).