Gibson Brands Forums

Hi I'm kind of new here.

shinie194

Hi everyone I'm kind of new to the guitar scene and today I just got a new guitar. I have no idea what it's called but the guy at guitar center said it's a Epiphone Limited Edition SG Custom Shop and I tried looking for that online but I couldn't find the model. He also said it's a discontinued model and not the SG400's so he really didn't have an Idea what kind of guitar it is. I personally like the sound and I chose it over the Epiphone Les Paul Studio Alpine White version. If anyone knows what kind of Model this is and usually how much this would cost because I got it for $299.99 and not sure how much it's actually worth. Also I'm trying to buy a new amp right now because I have the 10 watt Marshall Combo which is a really good amp but it's getting a bit old and I don't know which amp to get for 100-200 $'s... and I like to play alternative/punk/poprock type of stuff.

Here's the Pictures of The Guitar I got..DSC00246.jpg?t=1223196198

DSC00254.jpg?t=1223196288

(The White things on the black part of the guitar are just bubbles from the plastic.)

Not 100% sure or anything, but this basically looks like a G400 (which I used to have). Epiphone may have made a special edition or something, but as far as I can tell it's basically the same. Set neck, same looking humbuckers, four knobs, half pickguard, etc. The g400 usually goes for $300-$350. If you're looking for an amp I'd say the Valve Jr. by Epi. It's probably not going to sound how you want it to right off, so you'd wanna get a pedal for distortion/overdrive. I just say the valve jr. because it's cheap, it's pretty loud for such a small amp, and it's clean sounding so it's a good base point for a pedal.