Gibson Brands Forums

Looking for info on Masterbilt neck shapes

Biltmaster

Hi guys and girls, newbie here.

Just wondering if anyone has a definitive answer to a few questions.

What was the original neck shape of the Masterbilt EF500RCCE, a 50's V shape, or standard C?

Has the neck shape changed, if so when?

I recently bought one of these (second-hand on ebay) based on the fact it has a V shape neck - it doesnt.

The owner wasnt that sure what he had so I researched a lot and all of the sources i asked informed me(including the Gibson hotline), the EF500RCCE always came with a V shaped neck and has not changed. This is obviously not true (i have the evidence in my hand).

Even Guitar centre is advertising this model as having a 50's V shaped neck.

So, something is strange. I sent an email to Gibson, they're not really interested (even though it was them i spoke to PRIOR to buying and they told me it had a v shaped neck).

Any help would be great.

Cheers, Shawn

The EFF500RCCE I have is:

Solid Cedar top

Solid Rosewood back/sides

Cutaway

1.75 nut width

C shaped neck

LR Bags pick-up

Came with an Epiphone Masterilt foam hardcase with Hygrometer.

When I played one in a shop' date=' it definitely had a c-shaped neck, and a fairly thin-line one at that. I think some of the other EF Masterbilts have Vs, and my AJ500RC definitely does--one of the reasons I bought it.[/quote']

I only saw an EF500RCCE once at a shop, and my impression was it had a C or other kind of rounded neck shape. At least, it left no impression of having a neck too much different from the other Masterbilts I had at the time (AJ500R, AJ500M, and DR500). Since then, I've bought an AJ500RC, which has a chunky and clearly defined V shaped neck. It's the FIRST thing you notice when you take hold of it. I'm not 100% positive, but I THINK I would have remembered the EF500RCCE's neck being so different from the other Masterbilts had it a neck anything like the AJ500RC.