Gibson Brands Forums

restoring an old ea-250

eezapz2101

hi to every one

im restoring an ea-250 with gfs loudmouth humbuckers and tnt guitars wiring harness and aslo a coil tap pot

now heres the issue i did the instalation acording to the harness spec but the guitar makes noise if i take my hands if the strings why? can someone help me? im a rookie. now i've noticed that some wiring diagrams are diferent in the way the pots are wired why? some tone pots are from the center rod to the back of the pot other diagrams show the left rod soldered to the back of the pot again why? whats the efect or the diference?

hi to every one

im restoring an ea-250 with gfs loudmouth humbuckers and tnt guitars wiring harness and aslo a coil tap pot

now heres the issue i did the instalation acording to the harness spec but the guitar makes noise if i take my hands if the strings why? can someone help me? im a rookie. now i've noticed that some wiring diagrams are diferent in the way the pots are wired why? some tone pots are from the center rod to the back of the pot other diagrams show the left rod soldered to the back of the pot again why? whats the efect or the diference?

I cant easily answer your tone pot question, because I dont know off the top of my head. But your noise problem is a bad ground. Did you remember to ground to your bridge? This will cause that type of noise.

I cant easily answer your tone pot question' date=' because I dont know off the top of my head. But your noise problem is a bad ground. Did you remember to ground to your bridge? This will cause that type of noise.[/quote']

yes i grounded to the bridge

now i've noticed that some wiring diagrams are diferent in the way the pots are wired why? some tone pots are from the center rod to the back of the pot other diagrams show the left rod soldered to the back of the pot again why? whats the efect or the diference?

first of all, we need to get the correct terminology here..." center rod" = center tap of