Gibson Brands Forums

Shattered Glass Epiphone

jrinredcar

Firstly im not an expert on guitars and have only been playing for about 3 years.

About a year ago I bought an epiphone guitar off a friend, but foolishly didn't check it out beforehand (not that it doesn't work, its something i should've done anyway) on the internet for reviews etc. So omly now I decide to look it up, but i can't find it anywhere or anything about it (probably because i would'nt know where to look in the first place).

-its a limited edition guitar

-it has a shattered glass effect

- the nmber/code on the back is MR01090313

Thanks this is great help if i get a response, as i may sell it in future, and id need a decent price range.

LesPaulEseries.jpg

I have one similar, an Epiphone Les Paul 'Extreme', serial MR01090412. I've never really been able to find out much about these, and I've never seen one since I bought it in about 2004. I replaced the pickups with Seymour Duncan Phat Cats, which perform much better than the original Epi humbuckers that it came with (I still have them though! They've got the Epi 'E' motif imprinted on the casing). Gotta say, I love this guitar!

Anyone know any more about these? I can't find which factory 'MR' stands for, but it does have 'made in Korea' decal on it on the back of the headstock, under the 'Limited Edition' design.

• 2 months later...

I have this exact guitar except the serial number ends in 0334. I believed for a while (I've owned it 8 years) that it was a fake because of the MR in the serial number and the Epiphone logo. The only other information I've managed to find on it with regards to serial numbers is from other owners here:

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/epiphone-les-pauls/58244-epi-lp-xtreme-uk-ver.html

http://guitargeek.com/chat/archive/index.php/t-89604.html