Gibson Brands Forums

1974 les paul custom

Davey58

Hi all, i am a newbie on this gibson site and am just trying to find my way around it at present.

I have three les pauls, a standard of 2004, a black les paul custom of 2008, and my latest acquisition, a 1974 cherry burst les paul custom.

I am a lefty but please dont hold that against me,lol.

I would love to hear from anyone here on this gibson site who can give me any more information on my 74 custom especially!.

I have had the guitar a little over 1 week now and i have to say i was astonished at the feel and playability of this guitar.

The action took me by surprise when i first pick up the guitar and starten to play it for the first time, and the overall feel was amazing in my hands.

I hope this makes sense to someone as i was completely, and very pleasantly surprised with the whole feel of this instrument.

I find the sound awesome, and absoloutly love this guitar. What a find!

It feels a very different beast to my 2008 custom for a start. I think it is probably down to a much slimmer neck!.

I have read a little about these guitars from the early to mid seventies and noted that they had three piece necks, and a three piece maple top. this one also has a two piece pancake body but, if that is in any way, not a good thing,i have to ask the question why? because, as i have said, this instrument is awesome, and has now become my first instrument of choice.

Thanks for reading my rammblings, but, on a more serious note, can anyone out there tell me a bit more about this latest guitar i have been blessed to get hold of.

cheers folks.

Attached thumbnail(s)

Welcome to the forum and Congrats on your new Lester!

I've read that the problem with the multi-pieced body is that ultimately the pieces shrink to differing degrees, and when that happens, one can see and feel the seam between the layers.