Gibson Brands Forums

Greetings And Question

Andy R

Note - Posted this in the lounge but didn't get much. So I though I would give it a whirl here. Any insight is appreciated.

Greetings everyone. While I am not a new member to the Gibson forums I am noob here in the Epi lounge. I recognize a few names but hello to those I have not met before.

So I do have a question That I will post here and you can advise if I would get a better response on the Epiphone Acoustic Forum or should be moved.

So here's the situation. My friends husband recently passed away and she wanted me to look through his guitars and see if there are any I might want and or what they might be worth. He really didn't have many that were worth more than a few hundred dollars but I did run across this Epiphone EC 150.

While I am fairly knowledgeable about Electric guitars I acquiesce to my ignorance of deeper knowledge and details about acoustic guitars, especially classical models.

I did some Google-Fu and found out a little bit about this guitar in that it was made in either 66 or 69 ( Apparently they had some cross serials in Kalamazoo at the time). It appears as if they sell for around $800.00 but only found a couple that I could verify.

I would rate the guitar to be in "Good" condition. The neck is warped but that is something I can repair myself. It also appears to have some wood filler around the base of the neck. It appears to be from the factory ( I'm not sure how strict they were on QC for these at the time) Regardless, it doesn't appear that the neck has been re-set or has separated. It looks like there was some chipping that was filled in and it appears to be under the original finish.

The tuners have been replaced but I believe the originals are in the case. Other than that there are no major scratches and the finish has checked quite nicely.

So my questions to the experts would be:

Is there anyway to differentiate between a 66 or 69?

Do you think the filler is original?