Gibson Brands Forums

New Epiphone banjos

parispAl

Hello,

i just checked the new Epiphone website and watched the Banjo section. I saw they offer three models starting from 125 euros for the MB100 model. The MB100 is an open back which is the type i'm looking for.

I know it's an entry range product and you can't expect much for that price, but as a banjo beginner, I wanted to know if one of you know this product.

Merci !

http://www.epiphone.com/Products/Bluegrass/MB-100.aspx

"The MB-100 open back 5-string banjo is the perfect traveling banjo and an ideal first instrument for players interested in bluegrass and stringband music. Open back banjos are appreciated for being lightweight (easy on the shoulder!) and for their unique, mellow tone. Epiphone’s founder Epi Stathopoulo’s first patent was for a banjo and Epiphone has always been at the forefront of banjo design, setting trends, and leading the industry in making affordable quality instruments."

MB100_Splash.jpg

I wish had experience with the 100 to chime in for you. I do however have the mb-200 and it is well made, plays and sounds beautifully! Based off my experience if I was looking to pick up anopther Banjo I would have no problems picking up a mb-100 sight unseen! Good Luck

• 2 months later...