Gibson Brands Forums

Question about Collecting

Doctan

Hi folks, just a quick question, and Was wondering, Are most vintage, and collectible, and vintage Les Paul's acquired privately?

Or would i ever find one hanging at my guitar store, where the authenticity is done already (I would hope)

I am 45, and, just started taking lessons again, I have been playing for many years, but only acoustic strumming, country stuff etc, and I guess I am going thu my mid life crises as my wife says, and want to "rock on!) and start playing some Frampton I have been hearing horror stories bout some folks purchasing Gibson LP's, and finding out that they have been altered, a copy has been lets say stamped with a false "Made In USA", and people are not getting the true deal Gibson Les Paul.

Been reading some threads in the counterfeit threads, and there is great info there, but I just wanted to see if someone had some direct advise.

thanks!

:)

While there are loads of vintage guitar dealers big and small, I think the vast majority of vintage guitar sales are private sales.

How much are you thinking about spending? $1K? Maybe $2k?