Gibson Brands Forums

J45TV versus Fuller's J35 Custom

Ridgemont

I have played both and like both very much. However, I have not directly A/B'd them. I am curious as to how they compare tone wise. I have a general understanding of the specs, but really only spent ~15 minutes with each so I don't really know these guitars. So for those who own one or both, how would you describe them? I am interested in bass response, mids, and highs. I am mostly a fingerpicker both bare finger and more aggressive ragtime stuff with fingerpicks. Most folk music I do leans towards Travis picking style accompaniment although there is the occasional light strum with walking bass. How do these guitars handle this type of playing? My most used guitar as of now is a newish Martin 000-18GE which can really be driven hard with my style of playing.

FYI, I am a newbie hence the newbie question. Sorry if I am reinventing the wheel with this thread.

I have both. Based on my two guitars, I would say the Fuller's J-35 is drier (and maybe more evocative of a nostalgic sound) than the J-45 TV. They are clearly of the same lineage, though, and you may find individual guitars sound somewhat different.

Red 333

Red, can you repost that list of J-45 clones specifications that you posted on another thread..Thanks

Wiley, these are the specs as I observe them (though I'm relying on others for the "new" J-35's top bracing pattern). I've added the short-scale maple and hog AJ to the list, too.

----

To simplify the back bracing description, I'm going to describe them as Light, Medium, and Heavy in attempt to indicate their total, cumulative mass. Each of the four back braces may be relieved differently, according to their position, and their pattern may vary by model.

Advanced Jumbo

Top Bracing Bracing: Wide

Back Bracing: Heavy

Top: Sitka

B/S: Rosewood

Bridge: Rectangular

Scale: Long

J-45 Standard

Top Bracing: Standard

Back Bacing: Medium

B/S: Mahogany

Bridge: Belly

Scale: Short

J-45 TV