Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Les Paul Custom SIlver Burst - Real or Fake?

RyanB1979

Hi all, Please can someone give me some advice?

I have owned an Epiphone (?) Les Paul Custom Silver burst for a few years now, don't use it much so I was looking at selling it, and some people are saying it's a fake.

Please can anyone with the know how give me some advice?

Many Thanks.

Ryan.

post-59485-047631600 1379852795_thumb.jpg

post-59485-095663500 1379852803_thumb.jpg

Compared to the picture to be found here:

http://epiphonewiki.com/index.php/File:LpcustomSilverburst.jpg

there are differences in the shape of the upper bout around the toggle switch, in the toggle switch positioning, and in the pickups. I am not an expert in evaluating guitars, and I don't know for sure how different the make of Epiphone guitars can be when manufactured in different factories in different countries, so I don't want to give a statement here which would be guess only.

Is there a serial number that could be matched with country and site of origin? I know this can be difficult - the code of my own Epiphone Les Paul 1960 Tribute is still not deciphered yet...

Compared to the picture to be found here:

http://epiphonewiki.com/index.php/File:LpcustomSilverburst.jpg

there are differences in the shape of the upper bout around the toggle switch, in the toggle switch positioning, and in the pickups. I am not an expert in evaluating guitars, and I don't know for sure how different the make of Epiphone guitars can be when manufactured in different factories in different countries, so I don't want to give a statement here which would be guess only.

Is there a serial number that could be matched with country and site of origin? I know this can be difficult - the code of my own Epiphone Les Paul 1960 Tribute is still not deciphered yet...

Hi capmaster, Many thanks for your reply.

Yes, the serial number is - EE080416844