Gibson Brands Forums

Legrand Vs L7 C

Dick Couture

Hello,

(I posted the message below to the "new member introduction forum" but thought my question might get a better response in this forum.)

I'm new to this forum so first I'll give a brief background and then post a question regarding Archtop guitars. I've been playing guitar since I was 16 years old, currently I'm 66. I was taught by a teacher who played with big bands in the 1940's. He played a Super 400 Archtop (acoustic NOT electric) that hooked me on Archtop guitars ever since. In 1965, I purchased a ES-175D that I still own today. I use it all the time playing with a local ballroom dance band. Frankly, I think this 50 year old guitar plays better today than when it was new.

In 1999, I purchased a Gibson Legrand (Johnny Smith style Archtop - floating pickup, etc.) This is a truly wonderful instrument that has a great acoustic/electric tone. The Legrand projects acoustically very well but I always wondered how it would compare to non-electric acoustic Archtops.

Now my question. I'm looking for opinions on the Gibson L7-C built in Bozeman Montana. How does it compare acoustically to the Legrand? I fully understand that it would be best to actually play one, but I haven't found one at any of the local Boston area music shops.

I've posted a photo of my two Archtops. I look forward to hearing your opinions.

**** Couture

The la grande should be a X brace .. No? the L7 is a ladder brace?

No.

From Gibson's website: