Gibson Brands Forums

New to Gibson and Guitars

bsd970

I was a drummer many years ago, but sold them when I moved. I always planned to get another kit but either didn't have the money or a place where I could play them. It has been so long since I've played drums I would feel like I'm just about starting over. If I was going to start over again, I figured I should just start over playing the one instrument I have always wanted to play, the electric guitar.  I finally decided to take the plunge and buy one to learn. I've been looking at buying one for quite some time but having never owned a guitar I thought I would start out with something basic and work my way up. Well, after looking at about a million guitars and going back and forth on different guitars, I finally decided on the Les Paul Tribute. The Les Paul has always drawn my eye and in the right hands has a great sound. After weighing the pros and cons I just didn't want to buy a guitar I would eventually want to replace. I wanted to buy something I felt I would want to keep and play for years to come. As a little motivating gift, my wife bought me an amp to stop me from looking at guitars and actually buy one. I guess you could say it worked. After looking at my Positive Grid Spark amp (seems like a nice little amp) for about a month, I bought the Les Paul. I plan to take lessons but haven't decided whether to take them in person or online. Any suggestions on which form of learning or things I should consider would be greatly appreciated.  Also, if there are any suggestions on equipment or training aides I would benefit from I would also appreciate any help.  

Hello, welcome to the forum and congrats on your guitar and amp.   I believe the amp comes with an app which has some very useful features (when you figure out how to use them!).

I would start by looking a LOT at the internet and especially youtube guitar lessons.