Gibson Brands Forums

Best pickup for a J45 ???

sandpiper

I need some advice on acoustic pickups.

I have been using the M1A for a few years now and like it aside from two things. It is a bit mid-heavy, which actually works for the church I play at, but not everywhere else. And the biggest complaint is that my strings often clip the magnets on the pickup causing it to sound like string buzz. I have lowered and lowered the magnets and it still happens and now is starting to affect my playing. SO...

I've heard great things about the K&K mini western, but have heard that it does not do well in loud environments. I always play in a loud environment, in front of drums. Would this be a constant struggle for me? Even if I use a soundhole cover?

Any other recommendations?

Hi sandpiper...

I have a K & K mini in my gibson Advanced Jumbo. I have played it in a loud church setting with electric guitars, bass, drums, piano and vocals. Never have had a problem. I can go straight into the PA system. Since the K & K has no active pre-amp, (no battery in your guitar) I use a LR Baggs PARA DI which gives me the pre-amp and feedback control. I wouldn't recommend just using the K & K straight into an amp or PA without using an external preamp. They are wonderful sounding pickups though and I am likely going to have one installed in my LG1 when I get around to having some work done on it.

2nd vote for the K&K Pure Western Mini. I installed it in my J45 modern classic, and I like the tone much more than the stock Baggs Element that came with it. I also recommend an external pre-amp/DI box; I liked the Baggs PADI when I had it, but I am now using the Fishman ProEQ Platinum. They are comparable in price and features, but I think the Fishman has a bit more headroom; the sound is not as compressed. I've been very surprised at how much of a difference the external pre-amp can make to the sound of this pickup.

No!