Gibson Brands Forums

TUNE-O-MATIC BRIDGES POSTS BENT PLEASE HELP

singlecoil

I OWN A GIBSON SG CUSTOMSHOP - I AM REPLACING STRING AND USING A HEAVIER GAUGE THAN BEFORE. IN LOOKING OVER MY BRIDGE IN APPEARS IT'S TITLED ON THE POSTS OR THE POST ARE BENT. IS THAT NORMAL..

I AM BRAND NEW TO GIBSON. I AM USED TO WORKING ON FENDERS BUT WONDERING IS THIS NORMAL? IS THIS WHY I AM HEARING PUT A TONE PRO LOCKING BRIDGES ON?? YOUR HELP IS MUCH APPRECITATED

• 9 months later...

I just boght an SG Diablo with the same problem--bent bridge post!! The bridge was at an angle on one side. I called Gibson customer service and they are sending me two new posts, no problem. I guess we are not the only ones with this issue.

Rock on!!

There is a better solution to using the soft brass posts that Gibson puts on their guitars.

Get yourself a few 6-32 stainless steel screws, or threaded rod, at least 1-1/2" long, 2" or more if possible.

Longer is okay, you're going to cut them anyway.

Also get a few 6-32 nuts.

Measure how much the posts stick out from the top, and how high your bridge is from the top.

Remove the bridge.

Put 2 nuts on your posts and jam them together.

You will then be able to use the nuts to remove the posts.

With the posts removed, stick a toothpick or something else down the holes and measure how deep the holes are.

Add that measurement to the measurement of how much the old posts stuck out from the top.

Using the total measurement, cut the screws (or threaded rod) to that length.

Smooth the cut ends so that there are no distorted threads or burs- make them look like the Gibson studs if you like.

Rub the threads in wax or soap, that will make them go in easier.

Start the posts in the holes, and use 2 nuts jammed together to get them all the way in if necessary.

Remove the nuts (1 at a time).

Put your bridge back on at the height that you measured before.