Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson MK35 identification

Beljum

I bought this great sounding Gibson MK35 used in 1985. It is now well worn with about a million miles on it so I figured to sell it and purchase a new Gibson. Problem is, this MK35 does not appear to be like other MK35’s.

No serial number.

IMG_1784.jpg

No funky bridge.

IMG_1783.jpg

Her measurements are 11 ¾ x 10 x 15 15/16

IMG_1789.jpg

IMG_1792.jpg

IMG_1795.jpg

MK35

IMG_1781.jpg

IMG_1791.jpg

I wonder if any experts recognize the parts of this MK35.

Beljum

I'm no expert on Marks. If I had to guess, I'd say it may have been assembled by an employee using leftover parts after the line was dropped in '78(?). The fact that it's missing the weirdass bridge and rosette, both seemingly integral to the Kasha design swings the pendulum further in that direction. The logo and truss cover are "wrong" for the series too. I can't explain the lack of serial number other than to say it somehow escaped the decal or stamping, depending on the vintage.

Sometimes guitars were seriously monkeyed up and were stamped "BGN". These were typically sold "in house", but there usually was an accompanying serial number on the guitar regardless.

My brother had a late 70s BGN stamped ES-350T/Byrdland. It was a fully laminated maple body with Byrdland appointments and hardware. The only other "serial #" was a 2 stamped under the BGN. When we tried to research it, we got a story similar to KSD's. We were told it was probably a "second" with some minor defect and was assembled with various parts and sold to an employee. But, I'll tell you, we couldn't find anything wrong with that instrument that would have made it a "second".

So, KSD might be on the right track.

Thanks guys! That makes perfect sense; a sort of a bits and pieces guitar from the factory. I never considered that.

I wonder what “BGN” stands for? Builder Gone Nuts? Buggered Guitar Number?[biggrin]