Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie on the forum... new ES-339 owner

nobody

hi all... really cool site you guys have here... i've been lurking and reading up for the last few weeks..learning a lot too! Lots of great info here.

I just got my first Gibby!!! an ES-339, few weeks ago. I've been a Strat (ducking for cover) player for the last 10 + years... since i started playing.

I'm pretty new to Gibsons and humbuckers, so far i'm loving this thing :-k the 57' HB's are amazing. i play more clean that with dirt and these are great! So far i am more than pleased. the first 2 days with it were another story. it wouldn't stay in tune for more than 5 minutes and wouldn't stay clean. i lowered the pups and that helped. the tuners seamed to have sorted themselves out. i figured it must be because it was never played... i got it new in the box. L&M in Vancouver ordered it for me.

overall the quality is perfect, feels well build and looks to die for! I'm a happy customer. and my poor strats are getting dusty [-X

I'm a Johnny A fan... i wanted the JA model but it was a bit out of my price range. so when this came out i was excited.

now for my questions:

- i want to get a bit more body out of the bass strings. they sound a bit as if the tone knob is turned down. i improved it by lowering the pups (i may need to tweek more) and still need to tweek my amp a bit too. Any tips on how to get more juice out of the bass strings?

- i'd like to add a Bigsby, will it fit? will it make a mess and leave holes on top?

Thanks all!

Any tremolo unit you put on the guitar is going to leave holes... but if thats what you want and plan on keeping the guitar go for it... I wouldn't be surprised if Gibson comes out with a tremolo for it... Anyone know anything about that? I hope to get my 339 tomorrow. I had to have it shipped to me in Spain and it got hung up in Customs. After talking with them today they told me it would be delivered tomorrow.... Fingers crossed!!