Gibson Brands Forums

Looking for advice on my old tube amp.

BurstBucker Pro

Looking for advice on my old tube amp, a 'Voice of Music Model 160'.

I was given this old tube amp around 1979, when my uncle Harry passed away. He was the leader in a band called 'Harry Hibbard's Riverboat 6', in Traverse City Michigan.

It is a Voice of Music Model 160.

Some current pictures:

amp1p.jpg

This is my homemade speaker box, that I currently have it mounted to:

amp2.jpg

Here is the amp's schematic, but to me, it doesn't match exactly to what electronic parts that I see installed in the amp. I am no expert mind you, knowing him, he may of had it customized at some point.

amp3.jpg

This is how the inside looks:

amp4.jpg

I had to buy some new tubes for it, due to the original ones, came up MIA.

It currently has these tubes installed:

(1) Electro-Harmonix 12AX7EH

(1) Groove Tubes GT12AT7C (ECC81/6021)

(1) Sylvania 5Y3GT rectifier tube

(2) Groove Tubes GT6V6R's

This is how it originally looked, only newer! [tongue]

http://audioartillery.com/projects/vm_160_amp

I decided to have it looked over/upgraded by an amp tech...

I think it would be fun to have it in a small 'head box', but probably that is more of a wood workers job, than an amp tech? What speaker might shine with this amp? Some liken this amp to a Fender Deluxe, before it goes into distortion. (It is a very clean sounding amp, no doubt.)

I believe I want to buy it a new closed back cabinet, and want to try running the Celestion Alnico Blue...

They are rated for 15W's, with a Frequency range of 75-5000Hz.

This Amp's specs say:

8 watts RMS (60-12kHz frequency response, with not more than 2% harmonic distortion at 400 & 1000Hz)