Gibson Brands Forums

Adjusting volume of individual strings

daveinspain

Hi All, I'm just getting comfortable with my ES 339... Feels so good! I'm finding that the D string has a noticeable volume drop when I pluck that string, the A string too but not as much... I'm fairly new to guitars so if this is a lame question please forgive me.... I imagine if I adjust the hight of the screw under the D string on the pick-up it will raise and lower the volume of that string. All the pick-up screws have the screw driver slot perpendicular to the string and they are all about in the same position or hight. Is that the generic way Gibson ships a new guitar so the new owner can adjust the string volumes to his or her liking? Just thought I would ask before I go tweeking all the pick up screws and end up throwing something out of wack and having to send the guitar to a tech or something... Does that make sense?

Hi Dave--

You are correct that the "screws" (known as pole pieces) in the humbucker are adjustable and that, sometimes, they do need adjustment, but I would not go there first. I think a lot more depends on your picking style. It's hard to tell what exactly is happening, based only on your description of the volume drop, but I think it would be helpful to have someone else play the guitar for you. Pick someone you know who plays well and is familiar with electric guitars. Then, have him or her play the guitar through your amplifier and through his or her amplifier. By doing all this before you adjust the pickup pole pieces, you will have a set of controls to eliminate other variables:

1. the other person playing eliminates your potential picking style concerns--and lets another set of ears listen to hear if in fact there is a noticeable volume drop (you should play for this person as well);