Gibson Brands Forums

Burstbucker pro and Classic 57 plus. Will it blend?

Manet

I'm looking for a neck pickup that is good for "math rock" kind of tapping and such. It's usually a clean to slightly crunchy/distorted sound with a good "edgy tone". I also want a rich heavy sound on the bridge. I'm not good at describing, but hopefully this will give you an idea of what I'm looking for.

I'm considering Burstbucker pro on the neck, and classic 57 plus on bridge position.. Is that crazy?

If not it's either a bustbucker pro setup or a classic 57 (plus) setup.

Any opinions?

edit: corrected PUP name

The Burstbucker pro will work on the neck. I'm not sure what you mean about a classic pro plus in the bridge? A 57 Classic plus will work if that's the tone you want? You can can also go Burstbucker pro neck & bridge or 57 Classic neck & 57 Classic plus bridge? Is there a well known artist who's style and tone are what you want to sound like?

My car is facing upwards i want a good air flow but then i want a air scoop but i dont no what to do because the disadvantage of a scoop is that rain water can get in i dont want that i also like cold air intake but on my car im going to have to do alot of bends and that will lose the hp any ideas should i ask a garage to do it cars vw polo classic 57 +.

Rueckfahrsystem

Even though that was a spam message, it could be interpreted as an metaphor to my question and a hint of an answer... A classic 57 + you say? I don't know if I can trust you on that one Jenny

• 2 months later...

Manet, it's nice to see another math rocker on this forum. I'm currently in the pickup upgrading situation. But my plan is bass ackwards to yours. I'm considering a 57 Classic neck and a Burstbucker Pro bridge. Aggressive bridge tone, and warm and clean neck tone. I'm looking for a The Fall of Troy type overdrive sound and a clean sound exactly as you described haha!

Guest BentonC